The practical differences between LiftMaster and Genie include price, app ecosystem, drive options and model-specific features. These are different companies with different strengths, not a good one and a bad one. LiftMaster is Chamberlain Group’s professional, dealer-installed brand and runs myQ; Genie belongs to Overhead Door Corporation, sells through retail and a dealer-installed Pro line, and runs Aladdin Connect. Both make belt, chain and wall-mount openers with battery backup; only Genie still makes a screw drive, and LiftMaster currently lists built-in-camera models where we found none on Genie’s residential lineup page.
Quick answer
Choose LiftMaster if you want the myQ ecosystem (Amazon Key and Walmart+ in-garage delivery, in-dash vehicle control), a built-in camera, or its wall-mount opener. Choose Genie if you want Alexa or Google Assistant voice control through the maker’s own app, prefer a screw drive, or want a solid belt or chain opener in the value tier. On the fundamentals they are closer than the marketing suggests: both use DC belt drives, rolling-code remotes and battery backup on their connected models. The right pick depends on your garage, your app and your budget.
LiftMaster vs Genie at a glance
| Factor | LiftMaster | Genie |
|---|---|---|
| Parent company | Chamberlain Group (professional line) | Overhead Door Corporation (since 1994) |
| Drive families | Belt, chain, wall mount | Belt, chain, screw drive, wall mount |
| Smart platform | myQ (free app; paid video storage on camera models) | Aladdin Connect (free app) |
| Voice assistants named on the maker’s partner page | None listed; Google Home and SmartThings shown as unsupported | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant |
| Rolling-code security | Security+ 2.0 or 3.0, by model | Intellicode |
| Battery backup included | 6690L, 6580L, 2420L, 87504-267, 87802, 81602, 98022 | 7155 family, 7055, 7035, 3022-BC, 6172, 6072, Pro “-B” models |
| Built-in camera models | 6690L, 6580L, 2420L, 87504-267 (battery-backup models) | None found on the residential lineup page |
| Installed cost | Driven by drive type and features more than brand; see our opener installation cost page | |
Are LiftMaster and Genie the same company?
No. The mix-up happens because LiftMaster and Chamberlain are the same company (see our LiftMaster vs Chamberlain guide); Genie is a separate manufacturer, founded as Alliance Manufacturing in 1954 and part of Overhead Door Corporation since 1994. The two brands run separate smart platforms and rolling-code systems, and their remotes, keypads and parts are model-specific to each brand, so the platform and accessory questions below matter.
Drive types: belt, chain, screw drive and wall mount
Belt drive

Both brands build their quiet flagship around a DC belt drive with soft start and stop: LiftMaster’s Premium, Plus and Secure View models, Genie’s StealthDrive family. For a room over the garage, most homeowners choose a belt drive from either brand; our belt vs chain guide explains why.
Chain drive
LiftMaster’s battery-backup chain units are the heavy-duty 87802, the 81602 and the Basic Series 2420L; Genie’s are the Chain Drive 750 (7035) and the ChainMax 1000 in its 3022-BC battery-backup configuration. Chain suits detached garages where noise matters less.
Screw drive: Genie only

LiftMaster does not make a residential screw drive. Genie’s MachForce (4062/4063) uses a 2 HPc motor and what Genie describes as a maintenance-free rail, but it is listed without battery backup, so it is not offered or installed as-is in California; the battery-backup screw drives are the dealer-only Pro models 4164H-B and 4064H-B. Legacy Genie screw drives (TriloG, BlueMax and older) need Genie screw-drive lubricant per their manuals; our Genie troubleshooting page covers their rail and carriage issues.
Wall mount (jackshaft)
Both offer a wall-mounted opener beside the torsion spring that frees the ceiling: LiftMaster’s 98022 (battery backup, doors up to 850 lb; the older 8500W is discontinued) and Genie’s 6172 (LED, Aladdin Connect, battery backup, up to 850 lb) and 6072. Both need a torsion-spring door and a clear side wall.
California-compliant models we can quote
Because California has prohibited selling or installing a residential opener without battery backup since July 1, 2019, this table lists only models and configurations that ship with battery backup and carry complete, model-specific published warranty terms. Models sold without it (LiftMaster 84505R; Genie SilentMax 750, standard ChainMax 1000 3022 and MachForce 4062/4063) appear in each maker’s national catalog but are not offered or installed as-is in California.
| Model | Type | Smart control | Motor warranty | Drive warranty | Parts | Accessories / battery |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LiftMaster 6690L Premium Series | Belt, 1-1/4 HPs | myQ built in | Lifetime | Belt: lifetime | 5 years | Not stated |
| LiftMaster 6580L Plus Series | Belt, 1 HPs | myQ built in | 6 years | Belt: 6 years | 1 year | Not stated |
| LiftMaster 87504-267 Secure View | Belt | myQ built in | Lifetime | Belt: lifetime | 1 year (LED and parts) | 1 year camera, battery and accessories |
| LiftMaster 2420L Basic Series | Chain, 3/4 HPs | myQ built in | 5 years | Chain: 1 year | 1 year | Not stated |
| LiftMaster 98022 Premium Series | Wall mount | myQ built in | Lifetime | Not applicable | 5 years | 1 year accessories |
| Genie StealthDrive Connect 7155 | Belt, 1-1/4 HPc | Aladdin Connect built in | Limited lifetime | Belt: limited lifetime | 5 years | Accessories 1 year; battery 1 year |
| Genie StealthDrive 750 (7055) | Belt, 1-1/4 HPc | Aladdin Connect kit (separate) | Limited lifetime | Belt: limited lifetime | 5 years | Accessories 1 year; battery 1 year |
| Genie Chain Drive 750 (7035) | Chain, 3/4 HPc | Aladdin Connect kit (separate) | Limited lifetime | Chain: 5 years | 5 years | Accessories 1 year; battery 1 year |
| Genie ChainMax 1000 with battery backup (3022-BC) | Chain, 3/4 HPc | Aladdin Connect kit (separate) | Limited lifetime (motor and gearbox) | Chain: 15 years | 5 years | Accessories 1 year; battery not stated |
| Genie Wall Mount 6172 | Wall mount, 24 V DC | Aladdin Connect built in | 15 years (motor and gearbox) | Not applicable | 5 years | Accessories 1 year; battery 1 year |
LiftMaster’s 87802 and 81602 chain drives also ship with battery backup and are California-installable; they are left out because their model pages do not itemize warranty terms. Genie’s dealer-only Pro line adds “-B” battery-backup versions (4164H-B screw drive, 3124H-B belt/chain, 6170H-B wall mount), so an installer may quote a model number not found in stores.
Smart control: myQ vs Aladdin Connect
The biggest practical difference between the brands is which ecosystem you want. Both apps are free, open and close the door remotely, send alerts, run schedules and share access. The differences that matter, per each manufacturer’s partner page:
| Feature | myQ (LiftMaster) | Aladdin Connect (Genie) |
|---|---|---|
| Voice control | None listed; Chamberlain Group’s partner article shows Google Home and SmartThings as unsupported and says myQ cannot be controlled from Apple Home or Siri | Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant, per Genie’s partner page |
| In-garage delivery | Amazon Key and Walmart+ InHome | Amazon Key |
| Security platforms | Vivint, Alarm.com, Resideo, Ring | Alarm.com, Ring, Samsung SmartThings, Control4 |
| Vehicle integration | In-dash control in select Tesla, Kia, Honda, Nissan, Mercedes-Benz and Volkswagen models | Not listed |
| Retrofit for an existing opener | myQ Smart Garage Control: openers made after 1993 with a learn button, safety sensors and a sectional door; Genie Intellicode openers from 1996 onward are listed as compatible or “may be compatible” by model | Aladdin Connect retrofit kit: compatible sectional-door openers made after 1993 |
| App cost | Free; video storage on camera models is a paid subscription | Free |
Partner lists change; check the linked pages before you buy. Two common misreadings: Amazon Key works with both platforms, so it is not a reason to pick LiftMaster; and wanting myQ does not rule out Genie, because the external myQ Smart Garage Control adds myQ control to compatible Genie Intellicode units. Neither app is built into the other brand’s motor head. Our smart garage door opener guide goes deeper.
Security, remotes and accessories
Both brands use rolling-code remotes that change the code on every press. LiftMaster’s current models use Security+ 2.0 (for example the 87802 and 87504-267) or the newer Security+ 3.0 (the 2100L/2300L/2220L/2420L family; the Premium and Plus Series pages do not state the generation), which is why the model table has no security column. Genie uses Intellicode across its lineup. Both brands use rolling-code technology, but their systems and accessory compatibility differ. Rolling-code branding alone is not a useful reason to choose one over the other.
The practical difference is accessories. LiftMaster remotes, keypads and wall controls are matched to the Security+ generation, so Security+ 2.0 accessories are not assumed to pair with a 3.0 unit. Genie-branded remotes are made for Intellicode openers; Genie’s Universal Series remotes and keypads are designed to work across several manufacturers, checked by model. HomeLink pairing depends on the opener and the vehicle’s HomeLink generation.
Battery backup and California’s requirement
Since July 1, 2019, California law (Senate Bill 969, Health and Safety Code section 19892) has prohibited selling, offering for sale or installing a residential automatic garage door opener without a battery-backup function, and a replacement residential door cannot be connected to an existing non-compliant opener; openers already in service need not be retrofitted. So battery backup is not a brand advantage here: every new opener installed in Orange County must have it, and the compliant-models table above is the list to shop from.
Noise, lighting and cameras
Noise. Neither brand publishes sound ratings, and both belt drives are DC motors with soft start and stop, so we do not call one brand quieter; both position belt as their quieter drive over chain.
Lighting. A model-level spec, not a brand difference: LiftMaster’s 87802 lists a 2,000-lumen LED light ring and Genie’s 6172 wall mount is LED-lit; other models vary.
Cameras. A LiftMaster advantage if you want one: the battery-backup 6690L, 6580L, 2420L and 87504-267 have a built-in camera with live view in the myQ app (saving event video needs the paid subscription); we did not find a built-in-camera model on Genie’s residential lineup page.
Warranty comparison
The compliant-models table shows each model’s motor, drive, parts and accessory or battery terms as the manufacturer publishes them. It is a model question, not a brand one: LiftMaster’s Premium Series and 87504-267 carry lifetime motor and belt coverage while its Plus and Basic Series carry 6- and 5-year motor terms; Genie’s belt and chain drives carry limited lifetime motor coverage (chain: 5 years on the 7035, 15 years on the 3022-BC per its product page) and its 6172 wall mount 15 years. Both cover the original purchaser in a residential installation and exclude labor, the door, springs, rollers and consumables. Manufacturer materials can differ by SKU or purchase date; the warranty supplied with the purchased unit controls.
What each costs installed in Orange County
Installed price depends on drive type and features (camera, wall mount) more than on the badge, and in California every quote is for a battery-backup model. Current itemized ranges are on our opener installation cost page; every quote is written before work starts.
What we see in the field
Our own observations from servicing openers across Orange County, not manufacturer facts or failure rates. On either brand, how long an opener lasts is set far more by cycle count, door balance, installation quality and maintenance than by the badge; a heavy or out-of-balance door wears any motor and gear set early, so we check the door before blaming the opener. Brand-specific patterns from service calls are on our Genie and LiftMaster troubleshooting pages.
Which should you choose?
- Bedroom or office above the garage: a compliant belt drive from either brand: LiftMaster 6690L, 6580L or 87504-267, Genie 7155 or 7055.
- You want Alexa or Google Assistant voice control from the maker’s own app: Genie with Aladdin Connect.
- You want a built-in camera, Walmart+ delivery or in-dash vehicle control: LiftMaster with myQ; if you prefer a Genie model, the external myQ Smart Garage Control covers compatible units.
- High ceiling, storage racks or a car lift: a wall mount, LiftMaster 98022 or Genie 6172, subject to your torsion-spring setup. Want a screw drive? Genie’s dealer-only Pro 4164H-B or 4064H-B is the battery-backup option we found.
- Detached garage, rental or lowest workable price: a battery-backup chain drive: Genie 3022-BC or 7035, or LiftMaster 2420L.
Either way, sizing, safety-sensor alignment, battery-backup setup and app pairing are part of our garage door opener installation, and our opener repair service covers both brands afterwards.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are LiftMaster and Genie made by the same company?
No. LiftMaster is Chamberlain Group’s professional brand; Genie is a separate manufacturer owned by Overhead Door Corporation since 1994, with its own app (Aladdin Connect), rolling code (Intellicode) and remotes.
Can I use the myQ app with a Genie opener?
Not natively, but often yes with an add-on: the external myQ Smart Garage Control works with openers made after 1993 that have a learn button, safety sensors and a sectional door, and Chamberlain Group’s compatibility list includes Genie Intellicode openers from 1996 onward, some marked “may be compatible.” Confirm your exact Genie model on that list first.
Will a Genie remote work with a LiftMaster, or a LiftMaster remote with a Genie?
Brand-specific remotes do not cross over: LiftMaster remotes match its Security+ 2.0 or 3.0 generation and Genie remotes match Intellicode. Genie’s Universal Series remotes and keypads are designed to work across several manufacturers, once compatibility is confirmed by accessory and opener model.
Which brand works with Alexa and Google Assistant?
Genie: its Aladdin Connect partner page lists Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant. Chamberlain Group’s myQ partner article lists Google Home and SmartThings as unsupported, says myQ cannot be controlled from Apple Home or Siri, and does not list Alexa. Partner lists change, so verify on the manufacturer’s page before you buy.
Do both brands meet California’s battery-backup law?
Both make battery-backup models, and since July 1, 2019 California has prohibited selling or installing a residential opener without one. The difference is which models ship with the battery; the compliant-models table on this page lists them, and models sold without it are not installed as-is in California.
Related resources
Related guides: How to choose a garage door opener · LiftMaster vs Chamberlain · Smart garage door opener guide · Belt drive vs chain drive openers
Related services: Garage door opener installation · Garage door opener repair
Related brands: LiftMaster · Genie
Manufacturer pages: LiftMaster residential openers · Genie residential openers · Works with myQ
This guide was written and reviewed by our licensed garage door technicians (CSLB #994802), serving Orange County since 2013. The recommendations reflect what we install, repair, and see fail across more than 15,000 local residential and commercial doors - from coastal homes in Newport and Huntington Beach to HOA communities in Irvine and Ladera Ranch.
Deciding between LiftMaster and Genie? We install and service both across Orange County and will quote the right battery-backup model for your door, ceiling and app.
